My Favourite Lunch + New Running Shoes

Foto

Yes, those unhealthy nachos are my favourite lunch and post-run meal. I think I’d have a much flatter stomach if I could learn to eat salads for lunch, but I just love nachos so much. During marathon training I ate them pretty much every day. Sometimes I eat them just with cherry tomatoes. Sometimes I poach and shred chicken and add that to the mix. I always have a bit of mashed up avocado on the side. The trick to perfect nachos is to do them in a single layer. So many people do a pile of nachos, but then you end up with an uneven ratio of ingredients. This way, I get a little bit of everything with each bite!

tortilla chips + cheddar cheese + topping of choice + avocado = magic

They may not be very healthy, but at least I’m burning off all of those calories, right?

On another note, last week I was feeling some pain in the ball of my foot. I did some google research (who needs doctors when you have google?!) and the symptoms fit pretty perfectly with Metatarsalgia. Sadly, this meant taking a few days off from training. I also decided that my shoes were probably very worn out and needed to be replaced. I ended up sticking with the type of shoes I already have, the Brooks PureCadence, as I’m pretty happy with them. I upgraded from the PureCadence2 to the PureCadence3, and switched from purple to pink.Foto

After 5 days off from running, I went on my first run with the new shoes, and I had no pain! Hopefully that solved the whole situation.

Do any of you have a problem with Metatarsalgia? Is there anything you can do for it other than rest?

Happy Tuesday everybody!

xoxo

Adrienne

Leave a comment